Is Trust the way to go?

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by sjmerchant, 4th May, 2010.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. sjmerchant

sjmerchant New Member

Hello,

I am very new to the Trust concept and wonder if it will be useful in my situation.

Background
    I am an IT Consultant contractor earning around 130K gross. Till October last year, I was on a PAYG setup. My account recommended I set up a PTY LTD company. I have done that now. My wife earns about 45K gross. We have recently bought out first home.

Goal
    My goal is to set up my financial profile in such a way that I'd have to pay least tax (don't we all) so I can afford to buy my first investment property.

Someone mentioned the Trust concept whereby my partner and my income would be equally distributed. So I started reading up on it. The more I read, the more I got confused.

You guys seem to know what you are talking about so wanted an opinion from you all as to what my options are and what's the best way to reach my goal.

Cheers guys.

2. GregReid

GregReid Well-Known Member

There are other posts relating to trusts but it is essentially an asset protection mechanism. If there is a risk of being sued personally, then you need to look at placing assets, including your own home (if possible) in another legal entity.

For the PPOR, it may often be in the spouse's name solely.

For investment assets (IP's), then a discretionary trust (DT) can work being a separate legal entity (suggest you use a name not associated with your own which makes it harder to track down). One issue with DT's is that negative gearing benefits cannot be passed across to beneficiaries, so stay within the DT. If the DT becomes profitable, then the losses can be used to offset and after that profits can be distributed to how the trustees determine.