Lending from a SMSF

Discussion in 'Superannuation, SMSF & Personal Insurance' started by steve220465, 13th Jan, 2010.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. steve220465

steve220465 New Member

Hi everyone,

I am new to this, so please bare with me.

I am looking at lending some funds from my SMSF (90% of the fund) to an unrelated party (company A).

In return for doing this, i am able to obtain a loan from another company (company B) controlled by the director of the unrelated party (company A).

I will actually receive the loan from Company B before i lend the funds to Company A.

The loan to Company A is on commercial terms and not connected to the loan from Company B, and my super is not used as security.

Can anyone tell me whether this is regarded as an inhouse asset, or whether i am deemed to be getting a personal benefit from the investment and whether it would make my SMSF non compliant?

PLEASE HELP...SO CONFUSED!

Steve:confused:

2. Superman__

Superman__ Well-Known Member

Before even answering your questions I believe it may be prudent for YOU to ask yourself some questions first:

1. Do you think investing 90% of your SMSFs assets in one 'investment' is a good idea?
    2. Does it seem dodgey to you?
    3. Does your investment strategy cover it?
    4. If you have an SMSF you must have at least an auditor / accountant / adviser - why aren't you asking them?

You state that the loans between the two companies are not connected - but how do you know? If it truly is an unrelated party chances are Company A will simply loan the amount to Company B and probably take a big chunk of commission on the way through.

Welcome to the world of illegal early access schemes!

Without being too technical, the arrangement you have described is a breach of the sole purpose test as you are making an investment that gives you a benefit before you retire (even though it is apparently not connected).