Looking for advice

Discussion in 'Real Estate' started by davo6253, 11th Jul, 2008.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. davo6253

davo6253 Well-Known Member

I am young (20 yrs old) and have just started Full Time work. I have been considering looking at an investment property, given my situation probaly a unit / apartment to buy and rent out. As I am new to finance in general I was looking for some advice about whether this is a good time to buy? I am in the area south of Melbourne and due to recent economic activity my area house prices are significantly decreasing while rental property availability is low, that I understand.

My question is more are houses likely to fall further in price and should I wait before investing? And does anyone have any tips on what type of investment property would be best given this type of market (i.e. what type of people would be looking at renting). Any comments, suggestions, thoughts will be much appreciated.

Thanks alot in advance.
    David

2. AsxBroker

AsxBroker Well-Known Member

Hi Davo,

Totally separate from your investment property you should look into the government co-contribution http://www.ato.gov.au/content/downloads/spr_89416_nat11589.pdf

Cheers,

Dan

PS This is general information and not specifically tailored financial advice. Before making an investment decision speak to your FPA registered Financial Planner.

3. TryHard

TryHard Well-Known Member