loop holes for the first home buyer?

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by lukeypapa, 14th Jul, 2009.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. lukeypapa

lukeypapa New Member

hey all,
    i have been looking to purchase a PPOR in order to get the FHOG, although after the 6 months i wish to convert the property into an IP.
    i vaguely read somewhere that in certain circumstances the 6 month requirement can be reduced, and therefore converted into an investment property sooner. is this true?
    also i have found some good buys interstate but this would mean that i would not qualify for the FHOG because i would not be able to move into the PPOR?
    furthermore i have been receiving centrelink youth allowance payments (i am a student). does purchasing a first home sacrifice my payments or increase them?
    is there any way around my dilemma?

any help will be much appreciated.

2. Chris C

Chris C Well-Known Member

I think you will find our bigger issue will be getting finance, have you looked into if a bank will even lend you any money? and if so how much? Also do you have at least a 5% deposit, because banks are becoming more rigid about individuals having a deposit even if they are eligbible for the FHOG.

Also it's my understanding that if you don't live in the property for 12 months you will be foregoing your stamp duty exemption (though I'm not sure of its specifics down in Victoria - or if it's even offered). That said I haven't heard of any "loop holes" in regards to reducing the required time to quality for the FHOG.

I don't mean to stomp on your dream, but it sounds like you have low/no income, so another important question you need to ask is, is this a good time given the world economic turmoil to be taking on a large amount of debt relative to your income. Can I ask why you are considering this option now?