Managed Funds Macquarie Managed Investment Fund

Discussion in 'Shares & Funds' started by Ace1, 4th Nov, 2008.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Ace1

Ace1 Member

I've been putting off kicking off my investments for a couple of months now (just kept delaying and delaying as the markets got more unstable). I'm a 21 year old with $20K to invest and hold for the long term (7+ years), I'm unsure of:

-whether this fund is any good/ reputable
    -whether now is the right time to invest

Like I said I'm willing to look past short term up and downs and my ultimate goal is to grow my fund and not touch the capital at all. The unit price has fallen from the $1.50 mark I was initially considering to the $1.00 a couple of weeks ago to the $0.90 so I can certainly build up a healthy holding with $10K initial and $1000 every month.
    I'm doing this through Commsec and was looking for a diversified fund, aggressive in nature and this one had a low MER and a five star Morningstar Rating (but only $198 million in total investments- not a lot?)

Any help much appreciated.

2. Simon Hampel

Simon Hampel Founder Staff Member

Which fund are you looking at - Macqurie have quite a few ? Does it have an APIR code ?

3. Ace1

Ace1 Member

Sorry- it's the Macquarie Managed Growth Fund. Not sure of the APIR code though.

Cheers

4. Ace1

Ace1 Member

The other fund I was thinking of was CFS FC Inv - FirstChoice High Growth (APIR code: FSF0263AU). It's not as well diversifed as Macquarie's one, but has more potential for growth with 50% int. shares, 40% Aust. and 10% cash. Cheap unit price of $0.59 and similar MER to Macquarie but only two star Morningstar Rating. How do I decide?!

5. Simon Hampel

6. Ace1

Ace1 Member