Join our investing community

Macquarie Reflexion

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by aln1001, 18th Jun, 2008.

1. aln1001

aln1001 Member

Hi I'm new to investEd and am thinking of investing 100K in Reflexion. Has anyone else invested in this or have some advise for me? I'm relatively new to the investment scene. Is it good?

2. jabba_jones

jabba_jones Well-Known Member

Hi,

I've invested a similar amount into the reFleXion China trust on the Dec 2007 offering, which as at 30/April is about a -5.6% return, however after the direction of the markets in May/June I expect the performance to be a lot worse.

One thing I recommend you understand carefully is the threshold management (should your trust participate in this) again as at 30/April approx only half of each of the funds where invested into the underlying, so while it aims to protect you from losses, only half the money is getting the benefit of any of the gains. (See section 5.41 in the PDS)

One thing that does bother me is the time it takes for the monthly performance to come out, 18/June and still waiting for end of May numbers, then again its probably only going to confirm that I've lost more money.

Might want to read this thread too:

Capital-protected investments

3. carlosreynolds

carlosreynolds Active Member

Also,

- 1/3 of the borrowing cost is not deductible (14.60% - 9.45% = 5.15%) - thanks to Kevin Rudd and the announcement on 13 May 2008.
    - currency exposure to Japan, US and Euro depending on the investment option.
    - distributions (if any) will be fully taxable (no franking credits attached).
    - fees (if none are rebated)
    -- admin fee of $1,100 pa or 5.5% pa of a $20,000 investment.
    -- loan establishment fee of 2% payable to Macquarie
    -- upfront adviser commission of 2.2% of the investment amount
    -- trailing commission of 0.55% pa on the invesment amount
    -- upfront adviser commission of 1.1% of the loan amount