Managed Funds Managed Funds blacklist

Discussion in 'Shares & Funds' started by denismo, 1st Sep, 2008.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. denismo

denismo Member

Hi,

I am quite new to the investment and hasn't had any good/bad experiences yet. However, reading through the forums and other websites I noticed one recurring concern from other investors.

People complain that some managed funds have "dirty" or cheap practices of achieving income through short-selling and other activities which in the end make investors pay CGT or get fully-taxed income instead of fully-franked dividends. In the end, they don't get as much income as they planned, and I don't want to end up in the same situation :) I am aiming to setup an income stream with some hopes for growth.

I read some posts, and the names of some funds come up (for example, here CFS is mentioned.

I was wondering if there is a blacklist, either public, or learned through bad experiences of forum users, of bad managed funds/fund managers which one'd better avoid if he wanted to get stable fair income.

On the related topic, is there a white list of good income-generating funds, which in my view should be funds with fair (franked) dividends. Is there a web site which would allow to see how much dividends and what kind a fund has generated, or to see real after tax returns (which would then allow to estimate the percentage of tax loss)?

To make suggestions simpler, I'm currently looking at the following funds:
    AMPCI Core Property Fund-Cl A
    AMPCI Gbl P'perty Sec's Fund-Cl A
    AMPCI Small Companies Fund-Cl A
    AMPCI Sustain Share Fund-Cl A
    BlackRock W Comb'd Property Income
    BlackRock W Hedged Global Small Cap
    BlackRock W Aus Growth Share Fund
    BlackRock W Global Allocation Aus
    Colonial W Colliers Int Property
    Colonial W Property Securities
    Colonial W Aust Share Fund Core
    Colonial W Global Resources Fund