Margin Loans Margin Loan help required please

Discussion in 'Sharemarket Investing Platforms, Tools & Services' started by rumoid, 14th Sep, 2007.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. rumoid

rumoid Member

Hi Guys

Im a newbie to the forum so excuse the basic question

I was thinking about a obtaining a margin loan of say $20K to match my $20K and investing it in either a manged fund or self selected shares...

Can anyone tell me in layman's terms how the margin loan works?

Do I pay the principal and the interest in monthyl instalments or is it just the interest?
    If its only the interest and the loan term is only 2 years what happens at the end of this period- do I have to sell the shares to pay the principal back..
    In terms of tax efficiency- am I right in thinking that I can use the interest cost as a set off against my taxable income.

Thanks for your help in advance.

2. Rob G

Rob G Well-Known Member

Welcome.

You can deduct interest expenses incurred in gaining your assessable income.

The deductibility of interest follows from the use of the funds and not what you use as security.

Buying shares or units as an investor is deemed to be for gaining your assessable income as distributions, and so the interest is deductible.

You usually take an interest only loan as it keeps your paperwork simple and maximises deductions as all repayments are deductible. (blended repayments - yuk!)

You work on the premise that inflation and capital gains make the future principle repayment (non-deductible) less of a burden.

Often you just refinance as realising investments to pay back principle incurs CGT and the investments may be good ones that you want to keep anyway.

Don't forget that any up-front loan establishment fees may be deductible over time or even immediately if less than $100, while recurrent admin fees are usually deductible immediately.

Cheers,

Rob

3. rumoid

rumoid Member

Hi Rob