Join our investing community

Melbourne - growth potential

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Punter, 5th Jul, 2006.

1. Punter

Punter Punter

Hi

Need some information.

There is a three bedroom house on HOPPERS CROSSING by DHA.

I wanted to know the growth potential in this area.

Also pointers to median prise will be helpful. I am rather new to all this so not much familiar with routine and regular sites on the subject.

Thanks in advance.

Punter
    ---------------
    Sucessful people don't do different things, they do things differently.

2. Tzaki

Tzaki Well-Known Member

Punter,

Please be aware that DHA houses are generally overpriced, the rental garuntee is effectively added to the purchase price and the property management fees are also very high. (I have heard that they are around 12% compared to 7.5 to 8% normally) :eek:

DHA houses are, however, well looked after and maintained with a minor refurb at the end of the contract. They do have the rental garuntee for added piece of mind.

For median prices etc I use Australian Property Investor statisics and some comparative price checking on realestate.com.au and "window shoppping" in local realestate agencies.

With the low vacancy rates the extra money outlayed could be used for better purposes, in my opinion.

But if your "sleep at night factor" needs an assured income stream and you are happy with the price, then proceed - there a quite a few DHA investors out there.

3. MJK

MJK Well-Known Member

There's a lot of land out there in Hoppers that needs soaking up before there is any scarcity factor. Its on the fringe where all the new eatates are being built. 30K out of CBD.

MJK:D

4. Medine

Medine Active Member

Hi Punter,

You could look up the Valuer General's report on property prices. The new one has just been released and is available at www.land.vic.gov.au

Cheers, Medine

5. artgul

artgul Well-Known Member

In one occasion, I was quoted 16% for management fees.

Rgds,

artgul