Join our investing community

Mentor Education

Discussion in 'Financial Planning Study Group' started by Sophialan, 21st Sep, 2016.

1. Sophialan

Sophialan New Member

Hi everyone,
    I want to study the Diploma of Financial Planning in Mentor. May I know that whether the Mentor Education is the accredited Financial Planning education provider or not?

2. Kinj

Kinj Member

Hi Sophialan,

I am also looking to do FP from Mentor. Have you completed it? How was your experience? How much time you took to complete the course. Does it have good market value?

3. minty

minty Member

I am currently studying DFP with Kaplan, a colleague of mine is studying through Mentor. From what I have seen Mentor is simpler than Kaplan - you have only one assignment to do for the whole diploma whereas with Kaplan there's an assignment with each module.

From speaking with the financial planners I work with, their opinion is while Mentor is easier, you will come away with far less knowledge than you would with Kaplan after completing your diploma. That's why I decided to go the more 'painful' route with Kaplan because at the end of the day I don't want to have spent all this time studying & come away hardly any the wiser...

4. Kinj

Kinj Member

Thanks Minty for detailed info.

I ended up Kaplan too as I thought it has better market value and employable.

5. minty

minty Member

You're welcome :) There's a marked difference in the study material. Mentor you have smaller sections and at the end of each one you have to answer between 4 & 5 multiple choice questions in a 'mini' exam - although I don't think you are timed on it. After you complete those questions correctly you move onto the next section & so on. These are the only 'exams' you'd have. I think also parts of your assignment (to do a full SOA) are released in stages for you to complete by the end of your study. This is for the whole DFP - which I think you get 12 months to complete.