Mortgage reduction

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by Betheball, 25th Nov, 2010.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Betheball

Betheball Member

Hello all, I'm new so please be nice :)

I'm looking to reduce the mortgage on my PPOR = $270000
    I have no other investments or loans for that matter.
    I've applied to ANZ for a line of credit @ 7.22% and should have about $88000 to use, maybe more they are still doing the evaluation.

I was thinking of placing this into a managed fund as I'm new to trading. I've almost settled on the WilsonHTM funds : Investment Management Australia, Investment Company Australia, Investment Managers

I was thinking of putting 40000 in each of their funds for between 4 and 5 years or longer. Any opinions on this fund, seems to have done well over the last 5 years even through the GFC.

Questions:
    1. Is the interest on the LOC tax deductible, I mean I don't need to go with a margin loan?
    2. Tax to look out for? Capital gains, which is at my top tax rate 38%?
    3. Since my wife earns in the 15% tax bracket, can I put the earnings to her salary and pay the lower tax? The investment will be in both names.

The fund pays every 6 months and I was going to pull some out at the end of the year to pay things like capital gains and other charges I haven't seen. Good idea?

Thanks, any comments welcome.

2. jrc77

jrc77 Well-Known Member

Yes - as long as it is only used for incoming producing purposes (ie. your managed funds).

Capital gains tax when you eventually sell, distributed capital gains annually, and tax on income distributed.

The income/capital gain AND tax deductions go to the name as the investment. So if it is your wife's name, then initially when it is negatively geared you won't get as much tax benefit, but if/when it becomes positively geared you will pay less tax.