Managed Funds My first investment - I would appreciate your advice :)

Discussion in 'Shares & Funds' started by pinkeye, 30th Oct, 2007.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. pinkeye

pinkeye Active Member

Hi investEd :),

I am in my early twenties. I have been working my butt off, renting and living cheaply for many years now and I have managed to save $100k so far, with an additional $1k each month left over after rent and living expenses. I have realised that earning money this way is hard work, and I would really appreciate your advice to invest it. I plan to continue renting for the foreseeable future, so I am looking for a long-term investment.

I don't have any confidence or knowledge to invest in individual shares, and I want to avoid the huge organisational effort of buying and selling property. I just discovered managed funds and I have been reading your forum. They look like a good fit for my circumstance (please correct me if I'm mistaken). I just regret that I did not discover them a few years ago because the returns have been phenomenal! No point dwelling on missed opportunities though, I need to decide what to do now.

I am planning to use investsmart.com.au to buy their popular / top performing funds like Macquarie - Small Companies Growth Trust and/or Perpetual WFI Perpetual's Geared Australian. Assuming that managed funds are the most sensible option for me, my biggest questions are:

1 - Is there a web site where I can see graphs for the past performance of managed funds (to try and identify a good time to invest)? :cool:

2 - Is *right now* a good time to invest my savings in a managed fund, or with the current world financial tremors should I wait? :confused:

Any other advice is also appreciated! Thank you. :)

2. Simon Hampel

Simon Hampel Founder Staff Member

Glad you asked ... try Compare Funds :: Managed Fund Comparison Charts and Statistics :D