Join our investing community

Navra Aus Retail - Performance

Discussion in 'Managed Funds & Index Funds' started by Alwayslooking, 18th Dec, 2007.

1. Alwayslooking

Alwayslooking Well-Known Member

Hi All
    I am new to this and am in the process of jumping into NAVRA fund.

On Navra's website it states that income generated is 15.5% over the last 3 years. However, I have read some posts here where perhaps it is more like Navra is making 10%+ pa.

I am a little confused is 15.5% pa after fees etc.

If it were closer to 10% pa I don't think it would be worth bothering as Margin Loan is 9.5%.

I am probably missing something, can someone please clarify this for me.

Cheers, AL

2. ffc1883_1996

ffc1883_1996 Active Member

Given the fund's rather large cash holding, I was wondering if the performance may actually improve in a higher interest-rate environment.

Just a thought.

3. Simon Hampel

Simon Hampel Co-founder Staff Member

People refer to 10% just as a conservative figure based on Steve Navra's comments about his expected minimum in most markets. In reality the return AFTER fees (but before tax) has been much higher - but we've also had strongly rising markets the past few years.

Looking at http://www.navrainvest.com.au/index.asp?content=distribution - you'll see past distributed income each year since inception being 10.58%, 16.17%, 17.24%, and 18.53% ... which is where they get the 15.5% average from.

4. Simon Hampel

Are you referring to the higher returns on the cash component from higher interest rates on their cash account ?

I would think the performance boost from that would be negligible overall ... 1% increase in interest rate only leads to somewhat less than 1% overall performance boost based on the cash holding ... for a fund aiming for 10%+ returns, that's nothing to get too excited about ... although I guess every little bit helps.

5. Alwayslooking

Hi Sim
    thanks for reply.