Need accountant.

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by shouldisell, 27th May, 2007.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. shouldisell

shouldisell Well-Known Member

I think I need some advice before I get myself into any trouble.

I'm 21 and just recently started working in a gym. I get payed in cash from my private clients, and am payed via cheque by the gym owner. I am employed as a contractor/sole trader I believe.

I don't believe I earned enough to be taxed for this financial year, but I need to get myself sorted for next year.

I want to avoid doing anything dodgy/illegal, or atleast understand what would be considered illegal. This is my first 'real' job, so the whole process is unfamiliar to me.

What would be the wise thing to do in my situation?
    How soon do I need to find an accountant in order to get myself organised financially?
    What services would I require an accountant for?
    Any recommendations? (I live in Melbourne)

Because I would also like to start investing, I really think I might need some professional guidance/assistance.

Thanks.

2. coopranos

coopranos Well-Known Member

There is only one legal way to do it: declare all your income and pay the appropriate tax on it.

Are you an empolyee of the gym? If so then you probably dont have a whole lot to worry about. The employer with withhold tax and pay you super.
    As for the cash jobs, you are definitely legally required to report it, although I seriously doubt the majority of people in your situation actually would (or would report only a very small % of it).
    Probably many gym instructors wouldnt get insurance for their private cash work either, I would personally be investigating this with an insurance company.
    I think from the sound of things all you would need an accountant for would be to do your year end tax work, just keep good records so it is cheap for you!

3. shouldisell

Thanks for the advice.