Managed Funds nervous new investor

Discussion in 'Shares & Funds' started by Eureka, 8th Jan, 2009.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Eureka

Eureka Member

Hi there, i'm 27 years old and on a minumum wage salary of 35k per year which is unlikely to increase much in years to come (i work to live, not live to work!). I have however just recieved 100k in the past few months. I already have my own apartment owned outright, so i'm looking towards the stockmarket as perhaps my best option in terms of investment. I dont wish to invest in a second poperty either.

I was considering was investing the majority of this money into a managed fund. The main reason for this is that i have very little knowledge of the stock market, and whilst i find it interesting, it isn't something i would like to be making decisions on when it comes down to my future finances. Therefore i would rather have a fund manager who can make these decisons for me.

I also realise that this maybe one of the best times to enter the market, and i dont mind waiting up to 5 years for a return on my investment. In addition i dont mind high risk investments, and would prefer an option following shares, perhaps involving the asx200.

I have currently been looking at The colonial First choice 'high growth' option as perhaps a good one to run with. I do feel the fees are a little high, so also wondered if my money would be just as safe in a 'lesser known' fund managed account which charges smaller fees. I also have to take into account that i need to comfortable that the particular fund manager will 'do the right thing' by me as i dont want to be taken for a ride in these shark infested waters!!! Can anyone guide me to safe waters? :eek:

many thanks, james

2. AsxBroker

AsxBroker Well-Known Member

Hi James,