Nervous Start

Discussion in 'Share Investing Strategies, Theories & Education' started by Andrew G, 3rd Feb, 2007.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Andrew G

Andrew G Well-Known Member

G'day guys,

While I am not new to investing in property, I am new to investing in Shares/Managed funds, in that I have never done so as yet. I have some questions, probably basic, that I would be keen to have some experienced people answer if possible;

1. Several commentators have suggested that property and the sharemarket quite often act as opposites, in that when one side is going up, the other is going down. "If" this is true, would it be correct in "guessing" that I have left it a little late to be looking at shares/mf's considering some property commentators believe some property markets are at the bottom of the cycle (meaning the share market may be getting close to its top)?

2. I would like to get started with an amount of $10,000.00, and have been curious about two different funds. I have signed up with InvestSMART.COM, and I'm interested in CFS Property Securities. I'm not sure about the figures though? It stated that 3month return is 14.43%, 1yr is 39.17%, and 3yr is 27.9%. So this means that if I invested $10K 12 months ago, based on their 1yr return, it would now be worth $13,917.00! I take it the extra money just sits in there and compounding goes to work?
    (Just on a side note, what would stop someone borrowing $100K @ 7.5% ($7500 interest) and investing this $100K into the above fund @ 39.17% ($39,170 earned) then paying back the bank and walking away with $31,670?) - just sounds a little simple and odd to me that this could happen?