New to Investing - ETF or LIC?

Discussion in 'Share Investing Strategies, Theories & Education' started by mercthunder, 1st Feb, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. mercthunder

mercthunder Active Member

Hi all,

I am very new to investing and just getting started. I have $5K to start investing with and i was looking at either investing in Vanguard Australian Shares ETF or iShares Core S&P/ASX 200 ETF. I have a few questions for those experienced investors out there.

• Given i am investing a small amount, should i just choose one ETF and invest the whole $5K or should i split it between two different ETF's?
    • I am struggling to understand the difference between an ETF and LIC in layman's terms. I don't come from a finance background so the websites i have read have still left me baffled. Are there any major advantages/disadvantages over each other?
    • With ETF's i have read it is harder to re-invest dividends automatically. Is this true or false?
    • I have also read that not all ETF's pay a dividend. If this is true how can i avoid investing in companies that don't pay a dividend?
    Thanks for your help.

2 people like this.
  2. twisted strategies

twisted strategies Well-Known Member

welcome to InvestChat ,

this website might help a little

ETF Watch - A guide to ETFs & LICs in Australia
    2017 ETF & LIC Performance Report

i hold a variety of LICs and ETFs , each have their own strengths and weaknesses

i hold VAS and VHY ( they were at good prices in 2011 ) but iShares might be currently a better deal ( i hold IHD of the iShares products )

past performance is NOT a reliable guide to the future , but it is a guide

accessing the DRP is often an issue with the share registry ( not the ETF or LIC itself ) some registries just make life difficult especially if they use snail mail to deliver security codes to access your holdings ( and the becomes an Australia Post complication )