New to investing.Help with an index fund.

Discussion in 'Share Investing Strategies, Theories & Education' started by Jimmy__, 14th May, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Jimmy__

Jimmy__ New Member

Hey guys, I'm new to investing. I am quite young and want to start investing a little bit of money continuously and watch it grow. I did a bit of research and found the Vanguard U.S. Total Market Shares Index ETF (VTS) which has a 0.04% management fee and above 10% returns per year. I understand that I subject myself to currency fluctuations but surely it has to be better than the 5-6% that you get from the Australian market right? My questions are:

(1)-> What is the smartest way to invest in this fund given that I want to buy shares continuously in equal intervals (say monthly). The problem I have here is that nab trade (I signed up with nabtrade) has a price of $15 per trade so every month I would be paying $15. Is there a way to avoid this?

(2)->Is there anything big I am missing or misunderstanding about this fund? (i.e. why the low management fee and high return i.e. what is the catch?)

(3)->How does tax work when buying overseas? Do I pay income tax on my earnings only in Australia?
    (4)->Do I pay tax only when I attempt to retrieve my earnings? And if so is there a smart way to retrieve your earnings without paying large amounts of tax? The reason I ask this question now even though I intend to reinvest all of my earnings for a long time is that if there is something I should do before investing that will allow me to retrieve my funds as 'tax free' as possible then it would be awesome to know.

Sorry for the many questions. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

2 people like this.
  2. luke83

luke83 Well-Known Member

for point 1- Buy less often to save some money and /or find a cheaper broker ( Selfwealth charges 9.50 per trade). Remember you need to pay to Sell these also.