New to investing, visited a financial planner

Discussion in 'Share Investing Strategies, Theories & Education' started by janus, 31st Aug, 2006.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. janus

janus Member

Hi All,

I'm new to managing my finances (up until now I just spend and run amok), I recently saw a financial planner for a preliminary interview, I was quite happy with the info he gave me, but I thought I'd do a bit more research before committing. The problem I'm now facing is that originally I only wanted to employ a planner to organise my finances as I'm not particularly clued on or interested, and because I'm doing more research I'm realising that it's important that I be educated and understand whether the choices he presents will work for me.

Further, how do you really know if the financial planner you see is going to help, I don't know enough about finance to determine this.. I mean he seemed sincere, I asked if he makes any kickbacks/trailing commissions etc, he said he doesn't make any profit by recommending one MF over another so he's relatively unbiased, the only thing he makes commission on is Life Insurance.. he provided me with a Financial Services Guide, and explained the different type of strategies in broad terms.

Though I'm still waiting on the statement of advice he indicated that he would probably look to leverage my cash for investment in equities. I've got friends who say margin lending is too risky, also is this the right market to be doing this (I notice many of the MFs are performing quite poorly at the moment)?

How much more do I have to make from investments which are leveraged (say 50/50) to make it worth while? I understand I can claim about 30% of the interest on the ML as a tax deduction. He indicated that I could make around 11% from equities/investments, is this attainable? seems high to me!