Join our investing community

Newbie-hi, just retired on equity

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Dunsborough, 9th Jan, 2007.

1. Dunsborough

Dunsborough Active Member

Hi i am new to any forums
    I am a 47yo male
    I am in Bunbury Western Australia
    I have 2 IP and PPOR
    Like many people i am blessed to have had property in the recent boom and also lucky to have a lvr of about 23%
    Partialy due to health but mainly lifestyle i have taken the decision to retire and live by "harvesting" equity.
    Living this way and having increasing levels of debt goes against every thing i was taught as a kid (by very conservative poor parents) but i am happy to pay myself a moderate "Drawing" each year and still know that growth even at low levels will more than cover my drawings and expenses.
    I would love to buy more and harvest more equity in years to come but there comes a point where extreme negative cashflow without tax benefits makes me hold back.
    Anyway thats me, hello everyone

2. Simon Hampel

Simon Hampel Co-founder Staff Member

Welcome Dunsborough ... you do realise of course that you are about to be grilled by every member for details about how you have retired on equity ? :D

3. Dunsborough

Thanks Sim, Slow and steady and paid myself first over many years :)

4. Triu

Triu Well-Known Member

Well Done! Good on you well only 15 years left more to retire also!

5. Giddo

Giddo Active Member

Well ?????????

6. Smartypants

Smartypants Well-Known Member

Hi Dunsborough and welcome.

So, are you living off equity from just 2 I/P's??

7. Simon Hampel

2 IPs and a PPOR it seems.

8. Nigel Ward

Nigel Ward Team InvestEd

I guess the question is not how many IPs (altho that's a guide), the question is how much equity?

I'm purely speculating here, so I hope DunsB doesn't take offence...But if the 3 properties are in Perth at a median of approx $500k then that'd be $1.5m assets.

On 23% LVR that'd leave equity of approx $1.2m.