Property Investment while working overseas

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by R&B, 13th Jan, 2008.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. R&B

R&B Guest

My wife and I are currently working overseas and are therefore not earning taxabale income in Aus. We are looking at investing in property and have a feeling that using a trust is the best method for this. As such, I am in the process of setting up a discretionary trust and a company as the trustee as well as placing a small deposit on a property. I'm now starting to see how much work and information needs to go into these things. I'm a systems accountant so I'm not so clued up on tax and legal issues but I should be able to learn quickly. There is a decent chance that my wife and I will not be earning much Aussie income over the next few years and, when we do, our property may have a positive cash flow.

My question is, have I moved in the right direction for tax purposes? Should I be looking at a hybrid trust?

2. MattR

MattR Well-Known Member

Hi R&B

The old Hybrid Trust question - this always seems to create a bot of a stir. I won't get into that yet I'll just make some general comments.

In NSW if a discretionary trust owns property then it cannot get the land (free) tax threshold which equates to about an extra $6000 in land tax if tyhe land value is over $352,000 (2007 year). Victoria is similar but I can't remember about the other states.

...so be careful in what type of trust you use and for what purpose.

Another thing, if you use a trust any rental property losses are going to be quarrantined (to be carried forward). This would be the same in your own names, that is the losses are quarrantined if they exceed other Aus income that you have.

So before I go any further why do you want to use a trust?

3. tonyused

tonyused Active Member

As MattR says - "So before I go any further why do you want to use a trust?"