Property investors should stay away from Rudd Government’s housing initiatives

Discussion in 'Property Market Economics' started by Simon Hampel, 23rd May, 2008.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Simon Hampel

Simon Hampel Founder Staff Member

Property investors should stay away from Rudd Government’s housing initiatives: Wakelin -

2. AsxBroker

AsxBroker Well-Known Member

I think there is no chance of making "investment and financial literacy courses compulsory in secondary or tertiary institutes".

The closest thing I studied to "investment" in highschool was in Maths, Business Studies was a good subject but when they are talking about Microeconomics in businesses, it has nothing to do with increasing students financial literacy.

Since these "investment" courses don't actually exist at the moment, it's pretty hard to make them compulsory...

Cheers,

Dan

3. Jacque

Jacque Jacque Parker Premium Member

I agree wholeheartedly with Monique's obvious disgust in the REI's recommendations on doubling the current FHOG. What a monumental mistake that would be!!

We already have an affordability problem that isn't going to be easily solved by encouraging more FHO's to buy, and consequently push prices up (just what the REI want, as it equals more commissions for their industry's members ;)) - this is what happened when the FHOG was first introduced back in 2000 and the consequent artificially high prices didn't really help anybody. The grant became well absorbed into the increasing prices and artificially high housing market.

Let's not repeat the mistakes of the past- I tend to also agree with her opinion about getting rid of the handout grants, and rewarding savers instead.

Interesting article- thanks for the link, Sim.

4. Nodrog

Nodrog Well-Known Member

Hi Gang,