Managed Funds protected loans/managed funds advice please

Discussion in 'Shares & Funds' started by vivianne, 27th May, 2007.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. vivianne

vivianne Member

Hi I have some experience in stock market investment, but now find myself with a smallish pot of shares in St George.(post property settlement) I decided initially to use this , or some cash to take out a margin loan.
    However a visit to an FP has encouraged me instead to consider a 'protected loan'. I am thinking of about $200,000 - I can prepay a years interest.

I am a 49yo woman with three late teens kids, income around $70,000 next year.

How does all this work - my understanding is that I can claim 75% of the interest as a tax deduction , and I am attracted to this because as a sole parent on a low taxable income, my three daughters should be eligible for a Youth allowance. This will be of great help to them.

Does this sound like the way to go? What is the worst thing that could happen? What other alternatives might there be like this? It all seems pretty expensive to go through the FP - I guess I want to set and forget something, I do not want to stress about margin calls.

Any ideas welcome!!

Thanks in advance
    Viv

2. Handyandy

Handyandy Well-Known Member

Hi Viv

I suggest you need to supply more info re the investment that is tied to that loan and also what the 'protection' is

Generally these sort of loans aren't margin loans but are loans that are intrinsically tied to a managed fund such as one of the Macq bank stable of offerings.

I would suggest that regardless of the protection the investment must still perform and you ust have a reasonable expectation of getting returns over and above the cost of funds (interest).

The following link is a discussion about one or more of these products not preforming

http://www.invested.com.au/7/macquarie-newton-asia-funds-12992/