Pursuing Geometric or Arithmetic Returns

Discussion in 'Share Investing Strategies, Theories & Education' started by TypingDog, 8th Feb, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. TypingDog

TypingDog Member

Hi,

I'm a newbie to this forum, so if this is in the wrong place just shoot me a DM and I'll change the forum.

Based on my understanding arithmetic return is higher than geometric return once the level of leverage rises above such a level that ruin would occur in a single trade using a geometric approach. Therefore, leverage must be constrained below such a level to trade using a geometric approach, while leverage can rise above this level using an arithmetic approach.

Based on this, would it not be preferable to trade using an arithmetic approach if you have access to such a level of leverage?

To clarify:
    Arithmetic approach - Not reinvesting profits/losses, making every trade using the same sum of capital.
    Compound approach - Reinvesting profits/losses.

Thanks in advance for any responses.

Kind regards,
    TypingDog.

2 people like this.
  2. twisted strategies

twisted strategies Well-Known Member

welcome to InvestChat ,

first off, if it is the wrong place the moderator NORMALLY will move it to a better place ( especially since your post is polite )

now i don't use leverage ( have a margin loan ) and probably don't qualify now that i am on a pension , but in 2011 i would have

using leverage as i understand it incurs some extra costs ( like having a drawdown facility at a back , even if you don'r borrow anything there are still some costs involved having it unused

next do you understand the DANGERS of leverage ( a buddy has a margin loan , and he has has some exciting moments some for the dumbest of reasons , like the market dropping on the same day as the internet is stressed ,)