Join our investing community

Query for those who have completed their DFP

Discussion in 'Financial Planning' started by Mel1776, 7th Mar, 2010.

1. Mel1776

Mel1776 Member

Hi all,

New to this site, just wanted to get some feedback in regards to the opportunities they may have come accross after completing their Diploma of Financial Services (Financial Planning.)

I am currently ready to start my 2nd component (RM) with Kaplan, while juggling full-time work and 3 young children. I am extremely eager to get into the financial services industry as a para-planner but have noted the Diploma will need to be completed first.

As my current employment is not in the financial services industry I am trying to find an administrative/client services role while I am studying, at this stage that is not progressing well.

Any advise and feedback welcome.

Cheers,
    Mel.

2. AsxBroker

AsxBroker Well-Known Member

Hi Mel,

While the DFS isn't "needed" to paraplan, it certainly gives you credibility in relation to getting a job as well as being able to prove you actually know what is going on. There is another thread in relation to the salaries which paraplanners can get which is recent on InvestEd.

Cheers,

Dan

3. Mel1776

Mel1776 Member

Thanks Dan - I have a rough idea of the salaries, it's just the difficulty in getting IN the industry. Sent off my resume to one of the Melbourne employment agencies and the response seemed to me that I was not high calibre enough for their books. I'll just have to keep trying until someone wants someone with excellent client services/administration and bookkeeping knowledge who is willing to learn the rest... although experince speaks louder in most cases.

Cheers,
    Mel.

4. AsxBroker

Hi Mel,