Query on claiming costs for share course - Share Market College

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by jmll, 13th Mar, 2009.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. jmll

jmll New Member

I have been dabbling with shares for a few years now, at the beginning of 2008 I signed up for a course with the Share Market College (SMC).

The course that I signed up for included daily seminars and access to a share trading platform, a market analysis program and access to half hourly internet updates to market activity.
    I have used the share analysis program to decide when to buy but have not used the trading platform as I have been using commsec to trade.

I have a two questions if anyone could help out:
    1 - Can I claim the cost for the course and its products? I asked my accountant about claiming these costs and was told that I could not.

2 - Am I able to claim part of the cost of my computer and internet connection fees?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by a moderator: 13th Mar, 2009
  2. BillV

BillV Well-Known Member

jmll
    I am not an accountant but from what I know unless they are education expenses related to your current job I don't believe you can claim them.

3. Simon Hampel

Simon Hampel Founder Staff Member

4. Rob G

Rob G Well-Known Member

It depends ......

You say you are merely "dabbling" in investment.

Therefore courses and subscriptions relevant to your ongoing "investment" could be deductible - either in fill or depreciated where appropriate for capital items like software.

However, if you enrol on a "trading" course to engage in a new and more intense activity closer to being a business then the ATO could argue that these costs are both preparatory and of a capital nature - being intended to open up new income producing activities.

It all depends on your details, intention and history.

Cheers,

Rob

5. benilain

benilain New Member

news article from the brisbane times