Margin Loans RaboPlus and margin loan

Discussion in 'Sharemarket Investing Platforms, Tools & Services' started by denismo, 28th Aug, 2008.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. denismo

denismo Member

Hi,

I am going to invest with RaboPlus - I'm quite new to this and don't have much to invest, and feel RaboPlus is pretty good in terms of fees/minimal investment amounts for the first run. But I do plan to get Margin Loan, not too much (50-50 or 60 eq - 40 loan) - I have enough fixed interest/regular income to repay it in case of margin call.

The question however is whether anyone had any experience establishing margin loan with managed funds in RaboPlus. There is no builtin facility for margin loan at RaboPlus. And so far from my talks to margin loan providers I wasn't very successful at getting it, mostly because they don't seem to know much about it, and also because with RaboPlus I don't own the units in funds - just a share of units. Does it make any difference or they are just lazy/cautious due to my lack of experience?

I would also appreciate any advice on getting first margin loan or going with RaboPlus.

Thanks.

Denis

2. crc_error

crc_error The Rule of 72

there is a reason why Rabo is cheap.. limited choice.. you can't get a margin facilify via Rabo.

3. denismo

denismo Member

thanks for the reply, crc_error.

I still wonder, if there is no margin loan via Rabo, perhaps there is one outside.

I talked with St. George this week, and they seemed to have a belief that there is no problem. They asked for more information - such as amount, and allocations across funds, though they left me feeling as if they will eventually try to sell me one of their investment platforms rather than offering margin loan...

I haven't received the reply yet so it is still unclear.