Join our investing community

Recommendations - Trusts, Business, Property, Shares

Discussion in 'Accounting, Tax & Legal' started by theitpro, 3rd Apr, 2010.

1. theitpro

theitpro New Member

3rd Apr, 2010

After a many weeks/months searching for clues/assistance, I've finally stubbled across this excellent website!
    I've read many of the posts here but was wondering what the best is for my personal situtation and if there are any people who have similar situations to me that could help me out.

I'm just starting out (23 years old and not married) but want to get it right before I set things up in the wrong structures etc.

I do not have a company nor a trust setup.

I have approximately $30,000 in shares which are a mix of both short term and long term.

I also have approximately $30,000 in cash which I just leave in the bank.

I have a fulltime job which pays about $45,000 before tax and before Hecs debt.

On the side I also have a small little website design/computer business which I mainly do for collegues/friends so profit is limited at the moment and not recorded.

I'd like to setup this business properly though as I believe it has some potential.

What is the best way I should go about setting up a trust/business. I've done some research and have found that I should setup a trust which 'owns' a company.

Would I then move my shares into the company or the trust for tax purposes?

If I were to buy a house/unit, would it go through the company or the trust?

If I buy additional things such laptop, internet, stationary etc. for the business, does this go through the trust or the business?

Can my personal tax be offest against any of these investments (i.e. if I make a loss on shares or if I make a loss in the business)? (I find it frustrating to know that if I work for 3 years, I actually work for the goverment for 1 whole year in tax)

So essentially:
    1. Is setting up a trust which 'owns' a business the best option?