Renovating a Kitchen & Bathroom - How much & Who?

Discussion in 'Renovation & Home Improvement' started by Sk3tChY, 7th Jul, 2011.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Sk3tChY

Sk3tChY Well-Known Member

I'm looking at renovating a small-medium bathroom and kitchen. I've had no experience with this sort of thing and before attempting to speak with stores/tradies I figured it would be beneficial to hear other peoples experiences/opinions on what/where/price etc.

How much should I be looking at to renovate a Kitchen and a Bathroom?

I was basically hoping to get the bathroom refitted and retiled for about $5,000 and get the kitchen refitted and retiled for about $7,000 - Would this be possible? I'd be looking at medium grade finishes.

Does simple refitting make things a lot cheaper?

Should I avoid places like Ikea and Harvey Norman?

Does anyone have any recommendations on particular places to buy things from? Particular tradies/companies to speak to?

2. BillV

BillV Well-Known Member

Is this for your PPOR?
    It can be done for less but depends on what you want and the shape of the kitchen.
    Ikea have an online design tool where you pick what you want and you can see the price

3. Sk3tChY

No, this will be for an investment property.

By this you mean a bathroom can be done for less than $5000 and a kitchen for less than $7000?

As far as what I want - Basically just something good. I don't want something that's dirt cheap, that looks cheap and is going to fall apart in 5 years, but at the same time I don't want to pay an arm and a leg for marble benchtops and a mahogany toilet seat.

The kitchen and bathroom in question would be considered small to medium.

Is Ikea decent? Like is there stuff good quality?

Are the pre-made sort of cabinets/kitchens easy to fit?

4. BillV

BillV Well-Known Member

Their kitchens IMO are quite good.
    Go to the Ikea showroom and check them out.