Join our investing community

RG146 compliant and still no job

Discussion in 'Financial Planning' started by L'homme, 23rd Mar, 2010.

1. L'homme

L'homme Active Member

I have been job-hunting for an entry-level position for about three months and still no luck. My last interview with a stockbroking firm I was told "impressive but unfortantely you are not Tier 1 compliant".
    I became RG146 compliant in Feb and all I want is a break into the stockbroking field as an assistant or an entry-level employee etc . But everywhere I look everybody asks for some kind of relevant experience:(
    I am a uni graduate with some accounting experience and loads of extra-curricular activities to boast, I consider myself extremely informed about business and economy and reasonably knowledgeable in financial modeling, but it seems a lot of broking/research firms are lukewarm towards graduates with little experience. Not to mention the fact most firms don't hire on a regular basis.
    Can anyone in the industry tip me off who might be hiring at the moment? I'd like Financial planning firms too but they need only experienced para planners, no?
    Thanks.

2. AsxBroker

AsxBroker Well-Known Member

Hi L'Homme,

If your RG146 you are Tier 1 Compliant as long as you've done anything past Foundations. I think they were feeding you a story.

Stockbroking firms are few and far between especially the larger ones. Stick to financial planning as there are many more businesses in that area who look for staff, you'll multiply your oportunities tenfold (well actually about a thousandfold...). There are many more jobs in financial planning apart from just paraplanning jobs, client services, planning assistants, research, compliance.

Cheers and good luck,

Dan

3. L'homme

L'homme Active Member

Hi, sorry didn't make myself clear, I was rejected before I even knew there was a thing called RG146:)