Join our investing community

RG146 Education Providers & Regulatory changes

Discussion in 'Financial Planning' started by Andrew F, 11th Feb, 2012.

1. Andrew F

Andrew F New Member

Hello,

I've been considering a career in Financial Planning for 12 months now and have found the discussion in this forum valuable and illuminating, so first a thank you to all the contributors.

I have three questions, the first relates to RG146 education providers. I have a BComm from Melbourne University majoring in Finance and am considering which provider to use for RG146 training. I aim to become a Certified Financial Planner but am just taking the first steps.

Kaplan seems to be one of the more popular choices but I have had a small number of people recommend the RMIT course. I understand these courses are for compliance purposes rather than industry-quality training.

I will complete the courses through distance learning (self-study), I work best when course materials use efficient language that conveys complex ideas simply and are backed up with relevant and challenging questions. From what I've read regarding the courses so far this may be asking for too much, but I'd value recent students input regarding any positive or negative experiences.

For the experienced industry operators.. With all that you have seen and learnt about the industry, do you value candidates from one RG146 education provider above the others (assuming results in the upper quartile)? If your own son or daughter wanted to enrol tomorrow, which course would you recommend to them?

Finally. My only concern about entering the industry is the role that commission-based sales representatives have played in the industry, certainly not in all cases, but on balance I believe this incentive structure lowers the quality of client-advice and reduces the earning power of professional Financial Planners.