Join our investing community

rnr

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by rnr, 14th Jan, 2008.

1. rnr

rnr New Member

Hi! I'm new at this so bear with me....my query is about SMSF trust deeds...does a person have to go thru an accountant or legal? is it a document that you fill out and return to the ATO. there doesn't seem to be anything other than - pay - I was hoping I could make a trust and have it witnessed legally. We are moving our super (allocated pension) out of a very expensive and not very productive fund so feel a bit burned

2. AsxBroker

AsxBroker Well-Known Member

Hi rnr,

Sorry to hear the not so good news about your Allocated Pension, have you investigated other allocated pension providers? Also, it sounds like your asset allocation is not as growth oriented as you would like. Have you looked at the other investment options within your current AP?

SMSFs are usually set up via accountants, each year a SMSF needs to be audited by a qualified accountant. For a SMSF the members will become the trustees, as opposed to your current service provider being a trustee. If you have the time, inclination and understanding to become a trustee of your own smsf, that's great as you'll take alot more control.

Just out of interest, what are your current costs as a % of your balance?

Cheers,

Dan

PS Before making an investment decision speak to a FPA registered Financial Planner.

3. Nigel Ward

Nigel Ward Team InvestEd

Hi RNR and welcome aboard!

Starting a SMSF is not an undertaking to begin lightly. There are very serious obligations imposed on you as trustee of your super fund (or directors of the company which is the trustee).