Setting up a trust

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by sharejunky, 12th May, 2009.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. sharejunky

sharejunky Well-Known Member

I'm a share trader considering setting up a trust/company structure to try and minimize tax. A friend of mine had such a structure set up for him by an
    accountant whereby he claims to send money through the trust to family members (but doesn't actually) and then pays their tax for them. I'm not sure of any more details than this, but it sounds rather shady to me. Anyone have any knowledge of this subject please? (He claims it's legitimate, but I'm doubtful myself.)

2. AsxBroker

AsxBroker Well-Known Member

Hi ShareJunky,

I believe it is called a discretionary family trust.

You should speak to an accountant.

Cheers,

Dan

PS Speak to an accountant before making taxation decisions.

3. sharejunky

Actually I've had a preliminary talk with an accountant, and his price for setting up a shelf company is $1650 - does this sound rather exorbitant?
    He also recommends a trust/company structure btw.

4. samaka

samaka Well-Known Member

You have a discretionary trust which holds the assets - with you and some one else as the beneficiary. A discretionary trust must have more than 1 beneficiary.

You then setup a company to be the trustee (rather than yourself). The reason for this is that changing the trustee at a later stage will incur stamp duty (or some fee - I can't remember what). You make yourself sole shareholder of the company. If at some stage you want to change the trustee - you simply change the shareholding.

5. sharejunky

So you definitely need more than one person in a trust then? I
    thought that too, but my accountant insisted I only needed
    one person (myself.) Apparently the idea is to split the income
    between two entities to reduce the overall tax, but I'm still
    hazy on the details :) Anyway he told me to wait until after