Share strategies

Discussion in 'Share Investing Strategies, Theories & Education' started by Takestock, 18th Aug, 2005.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Takestock

Takestock Well-Known Member

Has anyone managed to develop a share investing strategy that consistently performs well over an extended period of time (at least six months) apart from the Navra method (which I personally think is extremely well developed and successful).

Do fellow InvestEd'ers (is that a real term?) use technical or fundamental analysis (or a combination)?

2. Simon Hampel

Simon Hampel Founder Staff Member

Seech - where are you ?? :D

3. Gonzo

Gonzo Active Member

I've been paper trading Alan Hull's methodologies, or I least I was until I relocated country. While it looks good, and using the shorting methodoligies helps, I still haven't felt that I understand it well enough to start outlaying cash.

What I did learn though is that I am an emotional trader and I try to hard to fine tune a system that I don't understand yet. Even through paper trading I bent the rules to my detriment. That's been a good lesson in itself.

4. See Change

See Change Well-Known Member

Of all the stand alone methods promoted commercially, Alan Hull's would be the one I'd be looking at. He describes his system in detail in his last book ( can't remember the name) and he has a subscription service providing recommendations.

It's a trend following system which also choses good fundamental sound companies.

There are several very dubious companies around and anything with sky or blue in the name be wary of.