Solar Power as an Investment

Discussion in 'Share Investing Strategies, Theories & Education' started by shaddowofadream, 8th Apr, 2010.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. shaddowofadream

shaddowofadream Member

So I was thinking recently with the recent rises in electricity costs (and these are set to continue rising) that I wanted to reconsider how Solar Panels might work (ROI) vs simply investing in renewable energy shares (if possible, I'm a newbie at shares)

Here are some numbers (taken from memory from a recent quote that I was given).

1.48 kW System
    Total Cost:- $9,845.00
    Govt Discount:- $5,355.00 (called REC's now)
    My cost:- $4,490.00

Output:- 6.7 units per day (2,445.5 per year)
    @17c/unit = $415.74 or 9.26% return on my outlay
    @20c/unit = $489.10 or 10.89% return
    @30c/unit = $733.65 or 16.34% return

** Note the actual buy-back cost of the energy produced will be set by the electricity company you sell-back to, (AFAIK in Western Australia Synergy buy's back the electricity for the same cost it sells out minus the GST component)

** Note 2 - a 1.5kW system is the base line and the government gives extra REC's for the first 1.5 kW...

Given the government is essentially halving the cost of the investment, could investing in shares give similar results (and benefits i.e. government assistance)

The main reason I've held back so far is the uncertainty if I would be able to "Sell" the Solar Panels at a profit down the line (i.e. adding value to the sale price of the property) but given the recent rises in energy costs (with the expectation for it to continue rising) I feel it might become a sought after addition to future buyers.

Have I missed something here, because a guaranteed return of 9.26% seems too good to be true ?

2. shaddowofadream

shaddowofadream Member