Join our investing community

Somersoft still down?

Discussion in 'General Investing Discussion' started by perky, 18th May, 2009.

  1. perky

    perky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    15th Aug, 2005
    Posts:
    300
    Location:
    Sydney
    Hi Sim,
    Just wondering whats happening with the Somersoft website? Seems to have been down for several days now?
    David
     
  2. Simon Hampel

    Simon Hampel Co-founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    9th Jun, 2005
    Posts:
    4,619
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Somersoft is working just fine perky ... perhaps it is a problem at your end?

    Try forcing a page refresh or clearing your cache?
     
  3. Joe D

    Joe D Member

    Joined:
    10th Jun, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    Perth
    Sim

    Same as perky. Somersoft has been down all weekend regardless of what I try.

    Joe D
     
  4. Jayar

    Jayar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    15th Aug, 2005
    Posts:
    130
    Sim,
    Yeah, same problem here....site unavailable for a few days now.
    My ISP is Optus.
    Cheers
    Jayar
     
  5. Simon Hampel

    Simon Hampel Co-founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    9th Jun, 2005
    Posts:
    4,619
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
  6. Joe D

    Joe D Member

    Joined:
    10th Jun, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    Perth
    Sim

    My ISP is also Optus and yes I can open the Zoochat link you posted:confused:

    So what now?

    Joe D
     
  7. Simon Hampel

    Simon Hampel Co-founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    9th Jun, 2005
    Posts:
    4,619
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Okay - looks like a routing problem for some Optus users for the server that somersoft.com is on. I will submit a support request at our host's end, but it is likely the problem is acutally an Optus one.
     
  8. Simon Hampel

    Simon Hampel Co-founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    9th Jun, 2005
    Posts:
    4,619
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Hosting provider has advised that they were already aware of this issue - the problem lies with Optus blocking one of their servers resulting from an injected phishing site, this was removed very quickly many hours ago but Optus is still blocking that IP. Both they and their network link provider have contacted Optus about this.

    It is suggested that to help get Optus to fix this as soon as possible that you contact the Optus technical support line and explain that you cannot access the server at somersoft.com (IP: 65.99.229.5). Don't let them advise you to just reboot your router and PC (perhaps do that just before you call them) ... also don't let them tell you it's a problem with the website provider - all issues there have been fixed, so it is up to Optus to unblock that address.

    The more channels we can get into Optus to better the chance we can get this resolved sooner rather than later.
     
  9. Jayar

    Jayar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    15th Aug, 2005
    Posts:
    130
    Hi,
    Looks like the problem's fixed now...........
    Jayar
     
  10. Joe D

    Joe D Member

    Joined:
    10th Jun, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    Perth
    Sim

    Now okay.

    PS: Optus tech support admitted the problem but also said that other ISPs were also affected eg. Iinet and Internode.

    Thanks

    Joe:)
     
  11. Redwing

    Redwing Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    9th Jun, 2006
    Posts:
    476
    Location:
    PERTH..WA
    Hi Joe,

    With Internode at home and had a few problems of late as well, so they are correct on that comment