Somewhat of a Predicament.

Discussion in 'Share Investing Strategies, Theories & Education' started by Ronaldio, 16th Apr, 2010.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Ronaldio

Ronaldio New Member

Hello Everyone,

I am new to InvestEd and believe me I am glad I have found the site. I have been searching through all the helpful bits and pieces however my situation at present is somewhat unfavourable(I believe). Anyway what I am after is an idea of what you might do if you were in the same situation. The story is as follows:-

We have a $360 000 mortgage on a house we bought for $340 000 (all done back before the GFC. Basically a 105% loan.

Now we have been in the property since July 2007. and I believe we have paid off around $15 000 which puts us around $345 000 on the property which hopefully the value should have risen.

At the end of last year my wife and I got a $60 000 LOC to do some renovations(as yet they have not started)

What happened almost immediately after we got the credit I no longer had a job and my wife was on maternity(unpaid as she is a contractor) so in essence for 4 months we did not have an income other than the LOC. In that time we have halved the $60 000 with bills and such. (I am a carpenter BTW and I have only just started working for myself again after being offered some work)(also I am in the process of starting a new home theatre construction business to supplement the carpentry work I do as cinema is somewhat of a passion of mine)

We also have one other loan on my work vehicle but other than that we have no credit cards or any other debt.

If you were in the same situation what would you do? I am constantly on the look out for more work and I am very proactive in looking for it. Also I can't wait to start investing and have started educating myself on the stockmarket and property investing.

Any helpful words of advice would be greatly appreciated.:confused:

2. KateMelb