Starting Super.

Discussion in 'Superannuation, SMSF & Personal Insurance' started by shouldisell, 26th May, 2008.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. shouldisell

shouldisell Well-Known Member

Hi guys.
    I know I made a similar thread a long time ago, but wanted to get some updated advice.

I work as a personal trainer / sub contractor. I get paid in cash and/or direct deposit, so I have no super fund.

I'm 22 years old.

I think I really need to open a SuperFund. I'm not sure how to go about it, what I should look for, how much to contribute etc...
    This has been in the back of my mind for some time now, but I have been focusing on other investments as well as procrastinating heavily.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks guys!

2. Simon Hampel

Simon Hampel Founder Staff Member

3. shouldisell

You're too good to me :)

4. shouldisell

That actually made it all sound pretty straight forward, which I'm not really used to.

I like the idea of having a fund which can also pay for life insurance etc... Since I don't have any of that either :S

I guess I would be looking at a retail fund (maybe an industry fund??) I'm not really sure what's available, and what I really need in a fund.
    Any recommendations or tips?

5. AsxBroker

AsxBroker Well-Known Member

Hi Compleks,

If your looking at insurance don't forget to compare the cost of insurances in different funds.

There was a report last year which said that differences in insurances could be up to 5 times more expensive in different funds, hence shop around.

Cheers,

Dan

PS Before making an investment or insurance decision speak to your FPA registered Financial Planner.

6. Young Gun

Young Gun Guest

A superfund is a must, but pointless if you don't plan to contribute to it. I've seen so many self-employed people who in there 40s - 50s have no super and no other assets to show for it.

You really have to make the effort to contribute each month and stick at it.