Stratergy Stratergy Stratergy HEEELLLPPPP

Discussion in 'Share Investing Strategies, Theories & Education' started by toeyazz, 20th Mar, 2008.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. toeyazz

toeyazz New Member

Hello All,

I am studying financial planning by correspondence and this site has come in very useful so far. This time I have a specific scenario and I am looking for some direction on the best strategies for this scenario:

Fred 42 y/o income $120,000; married; Mary 37 y/o $140,000
    * Just inherited $380k
    * Looking to accumulate wealth in preparation for retirement & help their 2 teenage children with education cost, weddings, and first house deposits (we should all be so lucky)
    *Super balances are fine and are not in the scope of this plan
    *Happy to stay in there $650,000 home with $125,000 still owing
    *$6000 in Credit Card debt, $2000 in store card debt
    *investment property worth $280,000 with $150,000 outstanding (do not want to sell)
    *They do not understand gearing and are time poor
    *Goal is to maximize after tax returns
    *They have considered another investment property or maybe REX, RIO and BHP shares.
    *Risk Profile - Moderate???

I know thats a lot of info and the reason I am chasing my tail on how to turn this into an effective strategy to meet there goals.

ANY HELP WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED!!!!!!!!!!

2. Simon Hampel

Simon Hampel Founder Staff Member

I'm not a financial planner - and have not studied any theory on financial planning ... so this is just a personal view on the subject.

1. get rid of store card debt and avoid using store cards in future
    2. get rid of credit card debt and arrange direct debit to pay off credit card in full each month
    3. if possible - get an offset account against PPOR loan and park $125K in there to minimise non-deductible debt while also providing a cash buffer for emergencies and for future one-off expenses.