Taxation of trusts - Please help =)

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by missy81, 28th Oct, 2011.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. missy81

missy81 New Member

Hi.

I had a few questions about the taxation of trusts, given that Im new to this field. Your input would be very much appreciated =)

1) Does the $6000 tax free threshold apply to trustees who are taxed under s99 (where no beneficiaries are presently entitled)?

2) Is a trustee taxed in accordance with Schedule 10 or 7? Does it move from Schedule 10 TO Schedule 7?

3) Does the "net income" (s95) of the trust include accumulated income from the previous income year? (the trust deed states that income is to be accumulated)
    ie. If the trust is administered on 30th June 2008, the trust income is $5500 and net income is $3000, and nothing was paid to beneficiaries in that period, I understand that no one is presently entitled to that amount. Does that mean that this amount accumulates to the net income (s95) of the next year? (the trust deed does say income accumulates).

4) from the above example, does that then mean the trustee receives an assessment for 2008 on the $3000 net income amount? THEN the remaining amount of the net income (after the trustee pays tax) is accumulated towards the net income of the following year?

Thanks so very much in advance for any input =)

2. GregReid

GregReid Well-Known Member

Missy81,
    I will answer as best I remember as you have not had a response as yet.
    I am not a tax accountant so it is not my speciality field.

If a trust does not distribute its net income to beneficiaries, then it will be taxed at the top rate for the first $.

The taxation of income is based on the net income from that year per your trust tax return, a carry forward notion has no relevance for tax purposes in this regard. You can carry forward tax losses.