Trusts - asset protection

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by armorris007, 11th Jun, 2008.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. armorris007

armorris007 Member

Dear Gurus,

I am new to Australia and currently trying to get my ahead around asset protection methods on behalf of my wife whom is a GP.

Originally from the UK, we enlisted the help of a financial adviser when we first arrived in Australia (12 months ago). They set-up a Discretionary Services Trust (with a trading name) for us, under the guise of 'asset protection' - due to increasing risk of disgruntled patients going after my wife's assets (excuse the pun).

Now nearing end of year tax time time, we've been told by our new accountant that the structure put in place by our financial adviser offers no asset protection whatsoever, and also because of personal services income rules, she won't be able to benefit from income splitting (not a major concern though).

The adviser basically setup a Discretionary Services Trust with a trading name which he instructed my wife to use to bill her practice manager for her services. I am listed as Trustee of the Trust she is just an appointer and beneficiary. The financial adviser instructed us to put our house solely in my name.

Having done the reading I should have done at the beginning of the year, it would seem that we have been very naive in believing this financial adviser. In effect, as trustee, I believe I am open to being sued and in effect - our house is at risk.

The best course of action that I've heard proposed so far is that of setting up a corporate trustee, and removing me as Trustee. The corporate trustee being a $1 proprietary share limited company - directed by my wife.

This is where I start to loose grasp of what benefits this offers.