use of wraps and lease options as part of overall strategy or not?

Discussion in 'Real Estate' started by jscott, 11th Jan, 2006.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. jscott

jscott Well-Known Member

Hello, I'm new to the InvestEd forums so this is my first post...

I became interested in property (and investing as a whole) only a year ago after reading a Steve McKnight book. Since then I've poured over forums and books and purchased 7 properties using wraps on some and more recently lease-options. I've found that for my last couple I've had to use low-docs but I guess there's no harm in that.
    The deals I've done in the past 12 months are all going smoothly and the tenant/buyers are extremely happy.

My strategy is to use the income produced from the lease-options and wraps as well as my day job to pay for long-term buy&holds (I still need to read up on Managed Funds etc as have never used them). I'm looking at purchasing my first buy & hold here in perth now (other than ppor that is) that will be paid for out of the cashflow from the wraps/lease-options.

I guess my question is... do people think that this is a valid way to go, or would I be better off putting my efforts purely into buy&holds and forget about the lease-options/wraps? If I only did buy and holds it would no doubt be a slower process as I'd have less cashflow but much more captial gains in the long-term.

I was planning on doing another ten lease-option deals this year, but now not sure...

Jason.

2. Bob__

Bob__ Well-Known Member

JScott,