Managed Funds Value of holdings down

Discussion in 'Shares & Funds' started by Smartypants, 26th Jul, 2006.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Smartypants

Smartypants Well-Known Member

I admit I'm fairly new to the world of managed funds and was wondering if anyone else is a little concerned over the fallen value with their Navra holdings.

I only bought in recently and I'm sure it is just the state of the market, and is probably hitting most of the managed funds.

Suppose I'm just trying to gauge if this is a normal occurrance in todays market.

Hoping someone can put my mind at ease.

P.S. I should mention that my total holdings are down approx 5% since buying in. Not a lot I know and that may improve considerably in the next couple of days, who knows.

Just trying to get opinion/s from others

2. Mark Laszczuk

Mark Laszczuk Well-Known Member

Hi Smartypants,

Isn't it great! I love it when the value of units drops in value - it provides a great opportunity to buy more at a lower price. Which is exactly what I'm doing. Doesn't mean that I put all my spare cash in, just some of it, in case it drops even further and I get to buy more at even lower prices.

Funds are a long term investment and should be treated accordingly. I can understand being new to shares that you feel a bit nervous, but daily fluctuations are not important - unless you want to buy more or need to sell for whatever reason.

Over the long term, the unit price will rise, so it's all good!

Mark

3. Glebe

Glebe Well-Known Member

Smartypants,

If you bought before June 30 you were buying the proportional value of the underlying companies, plus a proportion of the trading profit. Post June 30 the trading profit was distributed and the unit prices dropped accordingly.

4. TryHard

TryHard Well-Known Member

Hi Smarty