Trading What Do You Believe?

Discussion in 'Share Investing Strategies, Theories & Education' started by Tropo, 23rd Apr, 2012.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Tropo

Tropo Well-Known Member

Quote:

Step 1. How to deal with losses.

Losing traders believe.

- Losses are a reflection of their self worth.
    For example if I originally had $10,000 in my trading account and that amount has degraded to $5,000 then as a losing trader I believe that my worth as a person has been halved.
    - Losses are permanent and will continue for as long as they trade.
    - I must not lose any money ever.

Winning traders believe.

- Losses are part of the business of being a trade.
    A loss has no personal characteristics. If I am going to be in a business that revolves around the trading of money then sooner or later I will make a loss. All professionals have a bad day.
    - Losses are only a temporary state of affairs I know in the long- term I will be profitable.
    - I have accepted that I will lose money sooner or later. I understand what the worst case scenario is. As a consequence I am free from the anxiety that unexpected market moves may bring.

Step 2. Money is not that important.

Losing traders believe.

- Money is the sole goal of trading.

Winning traders believe.

- Money is not that important.
    - To a winning trader money is not that important, it is more important to trade according to your rules and to make quality trades than it is to focus on the money.
    - Focussing on the money alone causes anxiety and a heightened level of stress leading to an increase risk of the trade failing.
    - Profitable traders focus on trading well.
    If they trade well then the money is a side effect of those actions.
    - This creates a paradox in that a successful trader believes that if they follow their rules and make a loss then this has been a successful trade because they saw a trading signal and took it.