What happens to the debt when you die?

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by yeslist, 1st Sep, 2006.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. yeslist

yeslist Member

Hi Folks
    Something that someone may be able to clear up for me.
    What would happen to the debt on a property portfolio if for instance both husband and wife died at the same time? No trusts or other restrictions with all the properties being held in both names.
    What would the process be?
    Thanks
    Simon

Last edited by a moderator: 1st Sep, 2006
  2. Jacque

Jacque Jacque Parker Premium Member

I'm no expert, Simon, but one would imagine that the debt would be carried on to the parties inheriting the properties, in this case your children?

3. TryHard

TryHard Well-Known Member

I'm pretty sure the death of both partners is something things like Testamentary Trusts are set up for - to clear up the potential confusion when that happens. I'm guessing the lenders have the right to recover the debt when both borrowers shuffle off this mortal coil, so in the absence of some structure the beneficiaries might get stuck with some problems.

Nigel kindly pointed out some of the paperwork needed for our (slightly more complex) situation at :

http://www.invested.com.au/forums/22/bits-paper-do-we-need-146/

Might be a reasonable starting point to a meeting with your lawyer to get the right docs in place ? I think the only certain thing is that you can't assume things will necessarily go the way you hope once you're pushing up daisies :p

4. yeslist

yeslist Member

Thanks TH
    In the past we have spent a lot of time and money looking into Wills and asset protection and the result so far is we continue going around in big circles.
    I posted this same post on the somersoft forum and have had quite a lot of response and ideas from others.
    I hope we can gain a better understanding of the legal process from open discussion on the subject.