Join our investing community

What lies ahead for Australian Property Market?

Discussion in 'The Economy' started by mafarrelly, 8th Nov, 2011.

1. mafarrelly

mafarrelly New Member

Hi all

I'm new to this. But looking around I see a lot of negativity about the future in this forum.

Wonder what everyone thinks of this article?

Newsletter Articles

2. cleo

cleo New Member

It comes down to affordability:
    - a 640K mortgage translates to repayments of $2160 per fortnight
    - a couple on 60K has a net income of $3724 leaving $1564 per fortnight for everything else - no worries - as long as nothing changes for next 25 years.
    - then someone gets pregnant or goes part-time or loses their job and the income goes down to $1862/fortnight. They now cannot meet the mortgage payment by $298 per fortnight.

Most couples will have children, whether or not that was the plan when they mortgaged themselves to the hilt. Australia has full employment at the moment and this seems unlikely to change, however mining salaries are not relected through the rest of the economy. I am a 30ish professional in a non-unionised workforce tied to consumer discretionary spending. There is no pay rise on the horizon for me. I will not buy a property at current prices because I cannot afford it. There are many people who took out mortgages they cannot afford. Beneath the property price standstill, look at the increasing number of mortgages in arreas by 3 months.

Housing is currently not affordable for the average joe in Australia. This is a debt-fueled boom. You need to be able to service the debt.

3. Chris C

Chris C Well-Known Member

Just remember who Bill Zheng is...
    My sense is that for the most part he is just talking his own book.

The idea that wealth is stored in property is not correct - the wealth of a nation is stored in its currency.