Where/when do I start?

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by Heinko, 21st Apr, 2010.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Heinko

Heinko Member

Hey guys,

I'm a new member, and I'm just posting to get some advice on where/when I start investing! I'm 22 years old, and I'm a fresh graduate student now (luckily) working in industry. Throughout my Uni days working part-time, I've managed to (very difficultly) saved up and stick about $8k into the ASX200 for some passive income, and now that I'm out of Uni, I'm grabbing every opportunity that comes my way. As a result, I'm currently working a full-time job, and attempting to start/run 2 side business ventures, leaving me slightly pressed for time.

I've always been very keen on investing, however due to financial restrictions in university, I've always put it off until I've had some 'real capital'. However, now that I'm out and working, I'm still finding myself tempted to put it off until have I save some more or earn a higher salary or have more capital before I start.

I was thinking of investments with higher risk/return while I'm youngish and should anything deathly happen, I can work through and recover losses - however nothing requiring a six digit figure for capital (I was told investment loans sound never surpass a % of your yearly salary as a benchmark).

I understand that a good portfolio requires a good balance between yield and growth investments, however I'm unsure where to start.

Although (arguably) possibly the safest forms of investments, my entry level graduate salary doesn't exactly boost my confidence in taking out a loan for an Investment Property, and I don't like the idea of investing in the Aus property index (growth seems a bit slow while I still have a bit of time ahead of me).