Will Banks Finance Such As This?

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by abrogard, 17th May, 2014.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. abrogard

abrogard Member

This is a very simple question, not looking for detail or promises at all.

We have just finished buying our house and want to buy another and rent it out.

Call that an investment property I think don't you? We/I are totally ignorant of all aspects of this. We're capitalists only nominally.

I've had some little experience of banks and lending. Because about a year ago or so there was much talk of banks and different interest rates and such and so I attempted to discover if we would be better off if our loan - our mortgage - was with a different bank.

So I visited three. Westpac, Commonwealth, Bank SA.

It was incredible. Kept me waiting. Crapped on endlessly with pure garbage talk. Probed into every little detail - telephone numbers, home address, blah, blah...

and then finished up expressing no interest, blanket denials, wouldn't be in it, wouldn't want to know.

Managed to make me feel ashamed of putting such a proposition to them as though I were trying to swindle them.

Even though our mortgage was 8/10 paid. And obviously some bank had in the last 5 years thought well enough to finance us.

And I'd gone in there in response to their pushing to 'borrow from us'.

Pure crap. Hate it.

So if I can avoid a repeat of it I will.

Put the simple question to the excellent people of these forums.

Is it sensible to go to a bank and ask them to finance the purchase of a second house, for rental, when all you have is a fully owned house (of somewhat less value) - i.e. no cash deposit funds at this time?

2. GregReid

GregReid Well-Known Member

First you need to be clear on what your goals are, all else follows after that.