Join our investing community

Yuck! - Please put it back the way it was!

Discussion in 'Help & Feedback' started by ramone_johnny, 4th Jan, 2007.

  1. ramone_johnny

    ramone_johnny Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    15th Jun, 2006
    Posts:
    74
    Location:
    Bris Vegas
    My god - whats with the green and grey???

    Please guys, it seems every time I log in I spend a good 5 minutes trying to relocate the navigational buttons and menus.

    Get back to basics! Stick with the basic forum layout with the soft yellow and blue theme!

    Please I beg you!

    RJ
     
  2. Simon Hampel

    Simon Hampel Co-founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    9th Jun, 2005
    Posts:
    4,619
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Sorry, we've gone through a few iterations of the design trying to find something that worked best ... the previous navigation was a bit too difficult to find for some people, so I've made it much more obvious and consistent.

    This is the last change that will be made for the forseeable future.

    The "New Posts" link is in the top right hand corner, and that's where it's staying.
     
  3. MrDarcy

    MrDarcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    13th Sep, 2005
    Posts:
    283
    Location:
    Sydney

    I'll second that
     
  4. See Change

    See Change Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    17th Aug, 2005
    Posts:
    59
    Nice change Sim

    I found the new set up works better and it was more obvious where I needed to go to .
    Personally I found the last set up frustrating.

    See Change
     
  5. MrDarcy

    MrDarcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    13th Sep, 2005
    Posts:
    283
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ok, let's have a poll !!
     
  6. ramone_johnny

    ramone_johnny Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    15th Jun, 2006
    Posts:
    74
    Location:
    Bris Vegas
    Again - ditch all the unecessary clutter and just get back to just the basic forum overlay.

    RJ
     
  7. Simon Hampel

    Simon Hampel Co-founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    9th Jun, 2005
    Posts:
    4,619
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Thanks for your constructive comments RJ :rolleyes:

    We have much more than just a forum here, and we are trying to make it easier to access all the other information that is available on the site. There's a lot more coming soon too - all of which makes a standard forum structure too cumbersome and confusing for people.
     
  8. handyandy

    handyandy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    6th Jun, 2006
    Posts:
    312
    Location:
    Sydney Nsw
    Just to add my comments.

    I don't like the advs etc on the left. I must already be conditioned by Google and am used to ignoring anything that happens on the right of the page!

    I can see what your saying in regard to the various articles but in the main I personnally wouldn't be looking for them and as such see the viewing space they take up as unnecessary.

    Cheers
     
  9. ramone_johnny

    ramone_johnny Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    15th Jun, 2006
    Posts:
    74
    Location:
    Bris Vegas
    You mean youre going to stuff *more" information on the page!? How about using dynamic dropdowns up the top?

    I dunno - I just see it as very unorganised and cluttered at the moment - but my opinion is none of your business :p

    Im sure you'll work it out.

    RJ
     
  10. D&K

    D&K Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    14th Nov, 2005
    Posts:
    206
    Location:
    Canberra
    Sim,

    I think I tend to agree with RJ on the look of the site, but I can see that you're trying to improve things. Is it possible to colour the sponsored links areas differently to help visually? I almost missed the Invested content in the left column!

    Also, when you change from a straight list to a mixed or thread view, it gets a bit ugly. Though I'm usually happy using the straight list anyway.

    Cheers, Dave
     
  11. Simon Hampel

    Simon Hampel Co-founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    9th Jun, 2005
    Posts:
    4,619
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I don't understand - more detail please ?
     
  12. D&K

    D&K Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    14th Nov, 2005
    Posts:
    206
    Location:
    Canberra
    sim,

    When you use the "display mode" drop down and change to hybrid or thread (or whatever the bottom option is because I can't see it while drafting this!). I'm in 1280 x 1024 screen resolution and the screen flicks out to the right so I need to do a bit of horizontal scrolling.

    It's not critical, it's just a bit messy that's all.

    Dave
     
  13. Simon Hampel

    Simon Hampel Co-founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    9th Jun, 2005
    Posts:
    4,619
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ahh okay - thanks Dave ... I didn't think anyone actually used hybrid or threaded mode, so I haven't done any optimisation or testing for it.